MARYVILLE - The Illinois State Board of Education has chosen two teachers at schools in the 56th District to recognize as exemplary educators, and State Senator Rachelle Crowe (D-Glen Carbon) is congratulating both women on the prestigious honor.

“As educators find new methods to connect with students, it’s important for me to express my appreciation for their time, sacrifice and commitment to provide stability for our Metro East communities,” Crowesaid. “Especially in the age of e-learning, dedicated teachers are one of our best hopes to protect our students from falling behind.” 

ISBE selected Jennifer Bhooshan as Regional Teacher of the Year in the state’s Southwest area. Bhooshan is an elementary music teacher at Maryville Elementary School in Collinsville Community Unit School District 10.

Additionally, ISBE officials have named Kimberly Engelman of Eunice Smith Elementary in Alton Community School District 11 as its first-ever Early Childhood Teacher of the Year for the state of Illinois.

During the board’s virtual meeting on Oct. 21, ISBE will recognize all its Teacher of the Year awardees and select one of the 10 Regional Teachers of the Year to receive the 2021 Illinois Teacher of the Year award.

The Teacher of the Year program was created to celebrate the teachers who serve an exceptional role in achieving educational equity for Illinois students.

Photos and bios of the 2021 Illinois Teacher of the Year finalists are available at

Kim Engleman

Kimberly Engelman

Jennifer Bhooshan

Jennifer Bhooshan


Category: Press Releases

COVID19 Updates

Small Business Tours

Contact Info

District Offices
35 Executive Plaza Court
Maryville, IL 62062
(618) 251-9840 P

111 N. Wood River Ave., Suite A
Wood River, IL 62095
(By appointment only)
(618) 251-9840 P

Springfield Office
311B Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-5247 P

Follow Sen. Crowe


eNewsletter Signup
  1. First Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  2. Last Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  3. Your Email(*)
    Please let us know your email address.

Find Your Legislator